top of page

Proficiency Scales

Language growth depends on many factors, including personal motivation, time allocated within a school to language classes, well planned lessons and family and community involvement.

 Within the curriculum are five levels including: Emergent, Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced and Capable.  Moving from one language level to the next is not linear, rather it spirals like a cone.  The progress from one level to the next takes more time exposed to the language. 

For a copy of the Oral, Reading and Writing Proficiency Scales please click on the documents below.  Use the descriptors within the scale to determine, with the students, where they are at.

Oral Proficiency Scale 2023 final_Page_5.jpg
OPS Suggested guide_Page_5.jpg

Oral Proficiency Scale

OPS Conversation Guide


Proficiency Scale


Proficiency Scale

bottom of page